Barbara Roche, Chair

A former Labour Government Minister and MP, Barbara was a Minister of State in the Home Office, Cabinet Office and the Office of the Deputy Prime Minister. She was also Financial Secretary to the Treasury, a Department of Trade and Industry Minister and Immigration Minister when at the Home Office.

She has also chaired one of the largest housing associations in the country and currently chairs a number of other organisations.


Anna Soubry, Co-chair

Anna Soubry has been the Member of Parliament for Broxtowe since 2010. She was appointed a Parliamentary Private Secretary to Health Minister, Simon Burns in November 2010. Anna was appointed a junior Health Minister in September 2012. In the Ministerial reshuffle in October 2013, Anna was appointed the first female MP Defence Minister and was promoted to Minister of State for Defence Personnel, Welfare and Veterans in July 2014. In 2015 Anna was re-elected as Member of Parliament for Broxtowe with a majority of 4,287. After more than a year attending Cabinet as Minister of State for Small Business, Anna chose to return to the backbenches in July 2016.

Anna was the Honorary President (Rector) of Sterling University, a practising barrister and a radio and television journalist.  She was shop steward of the National Union of Journalists.


Atul Hatwal, Director

Atul has over twenty years’ experience in campaigns in the public, private, voluntary and political sectors. He's advised national politicians from the cabinet down, business CEOs, local government leaders and charity directors on strategy, communications and change. Atul is a regular commentator on British politics across print, broadcast and online media and was a founder of Migration Matters, with Barbara Roche.



Pat Ashworth, Advisory Board Member

Pat Ashworth was a diplomat for over 3 decades, working mainly in the Americas and Europe and latterly as High Commissioner to Belize from 2008 to 2013. 
His experience has included visa and entry clearance work as well as ten years of trade promotion activities in Brazil.




Julia Onslow-Cole, Partner & Head of Global Immigration at PwC Legal, Advisory Board Member

Julia Onslow-Cole is a Partner, Legal Markets Leader and Head of Global Immigration at PwC Legal. Julia leads the largest immigration network of its kind, with more than 1500 experts in PwC offices in over 154 countries.

Julia’s role extends beyond legal advice to helping clients effectively plan their immigration and global mobility strategies. She has represented business at the Prime Minister's immigration stock take meeting and acted as an adviser to the Home Office on business, investment and growth. She is a key expert in PwC’s Brexit Taskforce and has been liaising with Government and Business on immigration outcomes post the EU Referendum. She regularly speaks at conferences across the globe on the impact of the refugee crisis including, most recently, speaking with Kofi Annan in Monaco and chairing the first of a series of meetings organised by UNHCR and OECD.

Gill Green, Advisory Board Member

Gill Green worked in the research section of the Audit Commission for 20 years.  Her research included looking at the impact of migration nationally and locally, and at how public services respond to changes linked to migration.  




Danny Sriskandarajah, Advisory Board Member

Dr Dhananjayan (Danny) Sriskandarajah has been Secretary General and CEO of CIVICS since January 2013.

 His previous roles have included Director of the Royal Commonwealth Society, Interim Director of the Commonwealth Foundation, and Deputy Director of the Institute for Public Policy Research.




Garvan Walshe, Advisory Board Member

Garvan Walshe is a former National and International Security Policy Adviser to the Conservative Party. He has over a decade's experience in public policy as a policy adviser and in the private sector. 

He writes a regular column for Conservative Home and runs Brexit Analytica and holds a PhD from the University of Manchester. Follow him on twitter @garvanwalshe



Sir David Warren, Advisory Board Member

David was a British diplomat for 37 years, serving three times in the British Embassy in Japan, most recently as Ambassador from 2008 to 2012.

He retired from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office in 2013 and is now Chair of the Council of the University of Kent, an Associate Fellow of the Royal Institute of International Affairs at Chatham House, and a non-executive director of Aberdeen Japan Investment Trust.


Vaughan Jones, Head of Policy & Research

Vaughan has been active in many migration-related international, national, regional and local forums for over 30 years and was the founding Chief Executive of Praxis Community Projects, a highly regarded voluntary sector response to forced displacement.

He is a Trustee of the Refugee Council and a past Chair of the Joint Council for the Welfare of Immigrants.